Are you a bad developer if you don’t take on side projects?

Answer by Matthew Jernigan:

Yes!  You are a definitely bad developer if you don’t code constantly.  How else are you gonna keep up with the 42 dozen technologies of web, mobile, and implants?  Well, at least, that’s the message I’m getting from all startups these days.  You aren’t cool if you don’t know and love SokxJS or Nufu.go.  And since these employers are holding my creative coding future at bay (because I’m worn out from the enterprise grind) they must be right.

I, myself, prefer to spend my time at work working honest hours (crazy, huh?) and my time away from work with my family and/or doing church-related volunteer work.  Stupid me.  To be a real developer you must give up god(s) and family and learn to worship Git.  Git is a very forgiving git.  Git will accept code and side projects of any quality.  Go the Git route, it is easier.

Are you a bad developer if you don’t take on side projects?

Leave a Reply

